James Acaster’s Guide to Quitting Social Media by James Acaster

As a fan of James’ standup and chatty podcasts but less convinced by his music and drama podcast, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect but it wasn’t this. I assumed this was non-fiction book with various tangents and whimsy. Instead, its a story that seems to be made up by in about 5 minutes by a drunk child. However, it’s still very funny at times.

There are times that you feel like giving up as it drones on through the monotony of “James’” ridiculous plans. But then something makes you laugh just enough to keep you going. I’m no psychologist but I think that this is what Stockholm Syndrome is. Despite Robin Ince’s advice when he spoke at Edinburgh Fringe, I still find it difficult to not finish a book I have started but it nearly happened many times.

Perhaps the audiobook version with more of James’ mediocre character acting would have livened it up but in reality it was just some terrible padding and long build up for some admittedly funny jokes and not much could have saved it.

Overall, as I was reading I was trying to decide if this was artistic (not literary) genius or utter nonsense. I laughed lots and have quoted it a couple of times since, but the final verdict is that it is shite.

Rating: 3

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started